Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index


Instruction for Submission of Nominations

Purpose:  This award is given to a deserving member of the campus faculty in recognition of his/her scholarly and research activities.  The award was created in 1988 through the generosity of Advisory Board member, Dr. Richard J. Matthews and his wife, Sally

Eligibility:  Any faculty member who has completed two years or more of continuous full-time service is eligible for the award.  Previous recipients of the award are ineligible for a period of five years.  Previous recipients include: John Dolis, 2006;  Parminder Parmar, 2007; Phuong Pham, 2008; Eva Tettenborn, 2009; Margret Hatch, 2010; Matthew Muchler, 2011; Kami Merrifield, 2012 and Philip Mosley, 2013.

Selection Procedure:  The CAO shall solicit nominations annually from his/her respective faculty members.  In addition to these nominations, any full-time faculty member of the campus may nominate a colleague for the award.  All nominations must be submitted to the Chancellor via the Chief Academic Officer.  Nominations must include a completed nomination form, a current vita of the nominee, and a statement summarizing evidence of distinction within the campus in research.  The Research Committee, consisting of the Chancellor, Chief Academic Officer, and three research-active faculty, shall recommend the recipient from the pool of nominees.  The committee’s judgment is based primarily on work accomplished at Penn State Worthington Scranton.

Instructions:  The CAO shall solicit nominations from his/her respective faculty for this award.  In addition, any full-time faculty member of the campus may nominate a colleague for the award. 

1. Submit the nomination form.  Click here to submit the form via the Web.

2.  Completed nomination forms must be submitted to the Chancellor’s Office in Dawson 105 by April 4, 2014.